Race in Videogames: Burning questions from the peanut gallery.

by

Today I received some intriguing questions in regards to the article I posted the other day you can read that piece here. Now I want you all to know I’m an open book, I tell it like it is and I’m open to discussion and all that jazz. That being said, I knew that I’d get some people who weren’t too keen on what I wrote about. Below are my responses to some questions that were posted to my link.The questions are Italicized my answers will be in bold.

“The question is why black people feel the need white people need to represent them then get angry when white people don’t do it right. Do.it.your.fucking.self.”

Looks like you have some anger issues there and I detect a bit of racism there with that “Get off your lazy asses comment”

First off, let me introduce myself.

I’m Bamidele Ojo Jr, I’m an Adjunct at a University, I hold a degree in Corporate&Professional Communications as well as a minor in Biology.I’m far from what you call “lazy” but I’ll say this, reading your questions I do believe I see who the ass is here.

I wrote this here article because of I got tired of chuckle fucks like yourself spewing the same bullshit rhetoric every time someone, be it a woman or person of color speaks up about issues in video-games.

Black Micheal Scott

My face while  answered these questions

“Devs make what they identify with if white men are most of the western devs it makes sense white men will be the most prevalent character.”

Sure that excuse would work if the developers still lived in the year 1955 and only developed games in a gated community with no exposure to the outside world. That’s the only time that whack excuse would ever fly.

“The question is why black people feel the need white people need to represent them then get angry when white people don’t do it right. Do.it.your.fucking.self.”
Oh golly another lame excuse! like my answer to your other burning question, that shit only works if you’ve never interacted with black people. We’re as varied as a people can come but if the same “joke cracking, trash talking,boisterous” Barrett stereotype is only what is used the majority of the time. I’m going to raise an eyebrow and start asking questions.

There’s a difference between Nathan Drake from Uncharted and Cole from The Last of US same goes for Allan Wake and Booker from “Bioshock Infinite”

When it comes to people of color, we’re lucky if we get a character every once in awhile that doesn’t sound like they’re a sidekick in some 1990’s buddy cop movie or a character that actually has some depth to him/her besides having “Jokes” and “Attitude”as his/her only repertoire. It’s 2014 not 1996.

There you have it, my answers to your whack ass questions.

Later!

I know there’ll be more of these and it should be interesting to see where this all goes!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Race in Videogames: Burning questions from the peanut gallery.”

  1. Prof.mcstevie Says:

    I do sometimes wonder how striking the balance would work, as while I do find the stereotype of what some would call “ghetto” people as sometimes hilarious, I am also aware it is highly insensitive of the people who recognise it as a stereotype of where they come from. How do we present the even somewhat enjoyable aspects of a stereotype without offending people? Is an ironic portrayal the only one that people could accept?

  2. veryverygaming Says:

    Thanks for these two posts, it’s a really interesting topic, and you’re right that it’s strange how rarely it’s talked about considering how women in games is everywhere you look at the moment in the gaming media. This is something I’ve been thinking about a lot recently – not specifically about black characters in games, but black presence in art/culture more generally in the UK but your posts have set me thinking along videogame lines too. I could very easily write a massive long comment now but there’s so much to cover I’m going to hold back and write a blog post on it as soon as I have time. I want to think about how blackness might be in a videogame in a way that doesn’t feel forced or token, especially something like Assassin’s Creed.

    I hope I can do a better job than the response to your first post. Seriously, “stop complaining, do it yourself”?! Now that’s an idea, do it yourself. Ditch that job of yours, train to be Sam Fisher, sneak into Ubisoft HQ in the dead of night and change the textures on all the characters. Or do it the slow way: get some programming experience, build a portfolio, get a job at Ubisoft, work super hard, overcome the probably racist corporate culture and become the boss. That’s the best way because then you can force Ubisoft to make good games 😛

    Anyway I’ll just say that the worst game I’ve played for a black stereotype was Fahrenheit (or Indigo Prophecy as it’s called in the US) on PS2, there’s an awful black sidekick you play as sometimes. His plot is boring and has nothing to do with the main storyline, and there’s a minigame you where you have to play as him in a basketball match against your co-worker, for no reason. It’s dumb. (The other characters aren’t much better frankly but still.) Anyway that’s the worst I can think of. On the non-stereotypical side, Jet Set Radio seems pretty good from what I’ve played.

Leave a Reply

